Back to Top

Workshop Registration Details


104818

Breaking Down Barriers: Bias-Based Beliefs and How These Beliefs May Affect the Quality of Services to Our Stakeholders

Complete Attendance not available before workshop starts.

“Substantive research highlights the relevance of bias, both implicit and explicit as operating in school settings” (Fergus, 2017). In this session you will learn about how to put STUDENTS AND FAMILIES FIRST by examining biased-based beliefs that can impact student achievement of historically marginalized student groups and families. WHAT IF...there's more to the stories we tell ourselves about our students' home life, the decisions made by parents, and the communities in which they live? Staff ideologies about internal and external stakeholders can either have a positive or a negative effect on student outcomes. These "micromessages" either serve to motivate stakeholders into positive actions, or can bring down a person’s esteem, feelings of self-efficacy, and may cause the person to become disillusioned, disengaged, and lose motivation. The narrative must be altered to view the abilities of our stakeholders as opportunities rather than obstacles. In this session you can expect open discussion about racism and racial oppression that manifests itself in practices, policy, and in every day” normal discussion.”. The information learned can be used by all ESC staff as springboards for self-reflection and continued discussion and study to aid in selecting the right root cause analysis for school improvement activities and for the continued reflection on the quality of services provided by the ESC. Due to the nature of the presentation topics, there will be no closure in the discussions that arise as a result of the information presented in this session.

Region One ESC Staff

$0.00

30

1

9

1.5

No

None

Other Professional Development

Dates, Times and Locations

Room Name Workshop Date Begin Time End Time
Education Service Center
Webb Room
12/14/2018 9:30 AM 11:45 AM

Workshop Contacts

Name Type E-Mail Phone
Jannette Reyes Presenter jreyes@esc1.net
Claudia Garcia Contact cgarcia@esc1.net (956) 984-6244
Melissa Ramirez Contact maramirez@esc1.net (956) 984-6100
Rosa Rangel Contact rorangel@esc1.net (956) 984-6106
Gabriela Cuevas Contact gcuevas@esc1.net (956) 984-6285
Joanna Perez Contact jperez@esc1.net (956) 984-6105
Cynthia Guajardo Contact cyguajardo@esc1.net (956) 984-6134

Special Accomodations
For requests for special accommodations for this workshop, please contact one of the individuals listed above at least ten (10) business days prior to the workshop date.