Back to Top

Workshop Registration Details


94418

Struggling for Power

Presenter: Jeanine Fitzgerald. As children explore the world around them, nearly all will occasionally test boundaries and challenge authority because all children have a need for power. While most become more cooperative by age 3, some continually defy any attempt to discipline them and seemingly reject authority all together. This session provides insight into getting children to listen and respect authority figures in their lives, as well as provides effective ways to calm the storm of anger. Objectives: At the completion of this session, each participant will be able to: 1. Identify the influences upon power-based and anger-based patterns of behavior. 2. Design strategies that effectively address the five major influences identified above. 3. Design strategies that effectively prevent and de-escalate behavioral crises.

PPCD Teachers, Pre-K and Kinder Teachers, Head Start Teachers, 1st - 5th Grade Teachers, Behavior Strategists

$0.00

115

20

105

6

No

None

Child Development, Research, How Children Learn
Discipline Management
Diversity and Special Needs Populations
Early Childhood
Special Education

Dates, Times and Locations

Room Name Workshop Date Begin Time End Time
Smart IStay Hotel (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)-McAllen 10/17/2018 8:30 AM 3:30 PM

Workshop Contacts

Name Type E-Mail Phone
Juanita Lovejoy Presenter jlovejoy@esc1.net
Elizabeth Alvarez Presenter ealvarez@esc1.net
Elizabeth Alvarez Contact ealvarez@esc1.net (956) 984-6176
Hilda Aguirre Contact hvaguirre@esc1.net (956) 984-6142
Marissa Chavana Contact machavana@esc1.net (956) 984-6241
Tere Longoria Contact tlongoria@esc1.net (956) 984-6206
Juanita Lovejoy Contact jlovejoy@esc1.net (956) 984-6215
Perla Pulido Contact ppulido@esc1.net (956) 984-6261
Yolanda Olivo Contact yolivo@esc1.net (956) 984-6221

Special Accomodations
For requests for special accommodations for this workshop, please contact one of the individuals listed above at least ten (10) business days prior to the workshop date.