Back to Top

Workshop Registration Details


206430

Texas Reading Academies

Per House Bill 3 (HB 3), passed by the 86th Texas Legislature in June of 2019, all kindergarten through third grade teachers and principals must attend a "teacher literacy achievement academy" by the 2021 - 2022 school year. For simplification and to avoid confusion with other grant programs and past literacy achievement academies, the Texas Education Agency is referring to this latest requirement as the HB 3 Reading Academies. House Bill 3 was updated by the 87th Texas Legislature in June 2021, it now states that all kindergarten through third grade teachers and principals must attend a "teacher literacy achievement academy" by the end of the 2022 - 2023 school year. All K-3 teachers, including special education teachers, and principals are required to complete the HB 3 Reading Academies by 2023. This includes literacy specialists who see K-3 students in small groups and K-3 departmentalized teachers. While there are some formal processes pending, districts (LEAs) can proceed to exempt teachers who hold “all-level certification in art, health education, music, physical education, speech communication and theatre arts, or theatre,” as described in §231.3(a).

General Ed Teachers and Resource Teacher

$0.00

50

1

22

1

Yes

$30.00

Curriculum Writing-Reading
Elementary Reading (1-6)
English Language Arts/Reading

...There are no COOPs...

Workshop Materials

Title
...There are no workshop materials...

Dates, Times and Locations

Room Name Workshop Date Begin Time End Time
Online Course 9/20/2021 4:00 PM 5:00 PM

Workshop Contacts

Name Type E-Mail Phone
Ma Del Lourde Soto Presenter mdsoto@esc1.net
Yadira E. Diaz Presenter ydiaz@romaisd.com
Yadira E. Diaz Contact ydiaz@romaisd.com
Oswaldo Garcia Contact ogarcia@romaisd.com
Norma Gonzalez Contact nagonzalez@romaisd.com (956) 849-1717
Maribel Trevino Stone Contact mstone@romaisd.com (956) 849-1717
Lorraine Rocha Contact lrocha@romaisd.com

Special Accommodations
For requests for special accommodations for this workshop, please contact one of the individuals listed above at least ten (10) business days prior to the workshop date.